Turn to Stone

So, this was one of our very first Monday Starters post. I reread it now and … Definitely worth re blogging this morning.

Stay blessed today…

And stay Connected!

Photocredit: pxleyes.com

Just before I left Secondary School, my aunt gave me this amazing Teen Study Bible published by Zondervan House.

What was so great about it? It had these real life stories throughout the book with more at the back… and most of those stories were beyond awesome. I still have that Bible, till date. Its no longer my regular-use Bible, but every once in a while, I go back to those stories and now,14 years later, some of those extras still speak to my life situation.

I saw a quote in that Bible that literally blew my mind back then. It was by CS Lewis

Every time you make a choice, you are turning the central part of you, the part of you that chooses, into something a little different than it was before. And taking your life as a whole, with all your innumerable choices, all your life long, you are slowly turning this central thing into a heavenly creature or a hellish creature

Looking back, I’m surprised it made such an impression on me, back then because it is such a deep statement and I was very young (at least, relatively) when I first saw it… but it did.

My choice today, not only has its own consequences, but also affects the way I’ll make my choice tomorrow. With every bad decision I take, my ability to make a good choice tomorrow dwindles. With every great decision I make, I have a greater chance of making another great decision.

Domino effect.

These liars have lied so well and for so long that they’ve lost their capacity for truth.

1 Tim 4:2 (The Message Bible Translation)

I am sure this inspires some reflective thinking on your part. What is the nature of my ‘centre’? Is it a heaven-like creature or is it a little, maybe a tweeny bit hellish?

Hellish doesnt mean evil or wicked in this context. It just means wrong, less than perfect for you.

Every decision I make based on fear today makes a faith decision less likely tomorrow.

Every selfish decision I make today reduces the my ability to see beyond myself and love others tomorrow.

Every act of revenge I take today reduces my ability to make a choice to forgive tomorrow.

Everytime I choose to respond to the Holy Spirit’s yielding by obedience or disobedience, my heart is either turning to flesh or turning to stone.

Am I slowly turning to stone?

Should I really be trusting in my ability to differentiate right from wrong?

There is a way that seems right to a man, but its end is the way to death.

Prov 14:12

Its plenty food for thought. A famous actress once said ‘I don’t even know what is a sin anymore, everything feels so good’

There’s only one sure fire-way to be certainly making the right decision, not just for now, but for always

Where is the man who fears the Lord? God will teach him how to choose the best.

Psalm 25:12 (The Living Bible)

And for the ‘quarter- stone’, ‘half-stone’ or ‘fully-stone’ hearted people

‘I’m going to give you a new heart, and I’m going to give you a new spirit within all of your deepest parts. I’ll remove that rock-hard heart of yours and replace it with one that’s sensitive to me’

Ezekiel 36:26 (International Standard Version)

It doesn’t get better than that.

“We make our choices, then our choice make us”. Selah

Have a great week ahead

Stay Connected!

Leave a comment